Hide Cookie Control notification

This site uses cookies. Learn more about cookies.

Close cookie details

OverDrive would like to use cookies to store information on your computer to improve your experience at our website. One of the cookies we use is critical for certain aspects of the site to operate and has already been stored. You may remove and block all cookies from this site, but this could affect certain features or services of the site. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to remove them, please see our Privacy Policy.

If you do not wish to continue using this site, please click here.

  Main Nav
Things I Should Have Known
Cover of Things I Should Have Known
Things I Should Have Known
Borrow Borrow
An unforgettable story about autism, sisterhood, and first love that's perfect for fans of Jenny Han, Sophie Kinsella, and Sarah Dessen. New York Times bestselling author of Tell Me Three Things Julie...
An unforgettable story about autism, sisterhood, and first love that's perfect for fans of Jenny Han, Sophie Kinsella, and Sarah Dessen. New York Times bestselling author of Tell Me Three Things Julie...
Available Formats-
  • OverDrive Read
  • EPUB eBook
Languages:-
Copies-
  • Available:
    1
  • Library copies:
    1

Recommended for you

 

Description-

  • An unforgettable story about autism, sisterhood, and first love that's perfect for fans of Jenny Han, Sophie Kinsella, and Sarah Dessen. New York Times bestselling author of Tell Me Three Things Julie Buxbaum raved: "I couldn't put it down."

    Meet Chloe Mitchell, a popular Los Angeles girl who's decided that her older sister, Ivy, who's on the autism spectrum, could use a boyfriend. Chloe already has someone in mind: Ethan Fields, a sweet, movie-obsessed boy from Ivy's special needs class.

    Chloe would like to ignore Ethan's brother, David, but she can't—Ivy and Ethan aren't comfortable going out on their own so Chloe and David have to tag along. Soon Chloe, Ivy, David, and Ethan form a quirky and wholly lovable circle. And as the group bonds over frozen yogurt dates and movie nights, Chloe is forced to confront her own romantic choices—and the realization that it's okay to be a different kind of normal.

Reviews-

  • Publisher's Weekly

    December 19, 2016
    High school senior Chloe is well liked, gets good grades, and has a nearly perfect boyfriend, but she worries about her older sister, Ivy, who has autism. When it dawns on Chloe that Ivy might be lonely, she arranges a date for her with Ethan, a boy in Ivy’s special needs class. But Ethan’s brother (and chaperone) turns out to be Chloe’s despicable classmate, David, who “only talks in class to attack what someone else has said.” In this insightful account of misconceptions, family conflict, and the ironies of love, LaZebnik (Wrong About the Guy) examines the evolution of several relationships, including the foundering romance between Ivy and Ethan, and the unexpected bond that forms between Chloe and David. During the weeks that follow, Chloe is happily surprised to discover a greater depth to her stepfather’s devotion to Ivy but saddened to realize that her boyfriend and closest girlfriend will never truly understand her complicated home life. Writing with honesty and wit, LaZebnik offers a thought-provoking portrayal of how people can come together despite, or perhaps because of, their differences. Ages 12–up. Agent: Alexis Hurley, Inkwell Management.

  • Kirkus

    December 15, 2016
    The complexities of Chloe's love life intertwine with her autistic sister's. White high schooler Chloe has never had trouble fitting in socially. With her father dead of cancer, her mother recently remarried to a know-it-all, and her older sister, Ivy, on the spectrum, Chloe doesn't have the time or energy to worry about her peers' perceptions. And she certainly doesn't care if she's the object of snarky white classmate David's insults. But when Ivy begins to question Chloe's dating rituals, Chloe decides that perhaps Ivy needs a boyfriend of her own. After some investigation, Chloe convinces Ivy to try a date with Ethan from her specialty school. Ever the protective sister, Chloe accompanies Ivy only to discover that Ethan's assisted by his brother--who is none other than David. As the dates continue, the real sparks form between Chloe and her former nemesis as they both understand the responsibilities of having an autistic family member. Chloe's realistic narrative never sugarcoats both the challenges and gifts of living with someone with autism. In a twist that provokes more thought, Ivy may be more attracted to classmate Diana than Ethan. While the author expertly handles myriad issues regarding sexuality for those with autism and their families, the pacing does lose speed. An eye-opening look at autism and those it touches. (Fiction. 14 & up)

    COPYRIGHT(2016) Kirkus Reviews, ALL RIGHTS RESERVED.

  • School Library Journal

    December 1, 2016

    Gr 7 Up-LaZebnik's latest novel, following Epic Fail, takes the meddling matchmaker trope and gives it a charming modern-day twist. Chloe Mitchell's life isn't perfect, but it sure looks like it is from a distance: she's popular and beautiful, and she's got a gorgeous boyfriend wrapped around her finger. At home, things are much messier. When she decides that her older sister, Ivy, who is on the autism spectrum, might be feeling romantic urges, Chloe decides to take up the challenge of finding Ivy's soul mate. If only her reviled classmate David Fields weren't inserting himself into Chloe's life. Like Jane Austen's classic character Emma Woodhouse, Chloe is inclined to act first and ask questions later, and the chain of events unleashed by her actions end up in a disaster that exposes truths about her sister and Chloe herself. Although the Los Angeles setting occasionally seems generic, the adult characters could have used some fleshing out, and some plot twists aren't as surprising as one might desire, the dialogue has a snappy, realistic quality that will keep readers engaged. Best of all, Chloe and her sister are so authentically portrayed, they nearly leap off the page. VERDICT This story about a girl who upends her own life by trying to help someone else is a winning read for young people ready for a realistic romance about life's challenges. Suggest to fans of Clueless, also inspired by Austen's Emma.-Sara Scribner, Marshall Fundamental School, Pasadena, CA

    Copyright 2016 School Library Journal, LLC Used with permission.

Title Information+

  • Publisher
    Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
  • OverDrive Read
    Release date:
  • EPUB eBook
    Release date:

Digital Rights Information+

  • Copyright Protection (DRM) required by the Publisher may be applied to this title to limit or prohibit printing or copying. File sharing or redistribution is prohibited. Your rights to access this material expire at the end of the lending period. Please see Important Notice about Copyrighted Materials for terms applicable to this content.

You've reached your checkout limit.

Visit your Checkouts page to manage your titles.

Close

You already have this title checked out.

Want to go to your Checkouts?

Close

Recommendation Limit Reached.

You have reached the maximum number of titles you are allowed to recommend at this time. You can recommend up to 1 titles every 1 days.

Close

Sign in to recommend this title.

Recommend this title for your digital library.

Close

Enhanced Details:

Close
Close

Limited availability

Availability can change throughout the month based on the library's budget.

is available for days.

Once playback starts, you have hours to view the title.

Close

Permissions

Close

There are no copies of this issue left to borrow. Please try to borrow this title again when a new issue is released.

Close

The OverDrive Read format of this eBook has professional narration that plays while you read in your browser. Learn more here.

Close

Holds

Total holds:


Close

Restricted

Some format options have been disabled. You may see additional download options outside of this network.

Close

You've reached your library's checkout limit for digital titles.

To make room for more checkouts, you may be able to return titles from your Checkouts page.

Close

Excessive Checkout Limit Reached.

There have been too many titles checked out and returned by your account within a short period of time.

Try again in several days. If you are still not able to check out titles after 7 days, please contact Support.

Close

You have already checked out this title. To access it, return to your Checkouts page.

Close

This title is not available for your card type. If you think this is an error contact support.

Close

An unexpected error has occurred.

If this problem persists, please contact support.

Close

Close

NOTE: Barnes and Noble® may change this list of devices at any time.

Close
Recommend this title for your digital library
Things I Should Have Known
Things I Should Have Known
Claire LaZebnik
Optional:
Close
Buy it now
and support our digital library!
Things I Should Have Known
Things I Should Have Known
Claire LaZebnik
A portion of your purchase goes to support your digital library.
Clicking on the ‘Buy it Now’ link will cause you to leave the digital library website. The ‘Buy it Now’ link will connect you to a retail website where you can purchase content for personal use. The content of the retail website is not controlled by the library. Please be aware that the website does not have the same privacy policy as the digital library website.
Close
Barnes & Noble Sign In |   Sign In

The first time you select “Send to NOOK,” you will be taken to a Barnes & Noble page to sign into (or create) your NOOK account. You should only have to sign into your NOOK account once to link it to your library account. After this one-time step, periodicals will be automatically sent to your NOOK account when you select "Send to NOOK."

You can read periodicals on any NOOK tablet or in the free NOOK reading app for iOS, Android or Windows 8.

Accept to ContinueCancel

Close

Renewing this title won't extend your lending period. Instead, it will let you borrow the title again immediately after your first lending period expires.

Close

You can't renew this title because there are holds on it. However, you can join the holds list and be notified when it becomes available for you to borrow again.

Close